The cult section of the literary world

Posts tagged “lucas mangum

Read EXTINCTION PEAK by Lucas Mangum (for free!)

Over at Lucas Mangum’s blog, he’s posted a story about dinosaurs and ultraviolence called Extinction Peak. It goes a little something like this:

No, that’s actually Dinosaurs Attack!, but the idea is similar. Here’s Mangum himself describing the story:

“Two and a half years ago, I wrote a novel inspired by the completely bonkers Dinosaurs Attack cards from Topps. If you’re not familiar with these cards, just Google them. They’re seriously crazy and gory as fuck. Because of them, and growing up on Jurassic Park, I always wanted to write a gruesome dinosaur story.¬†

Enter Extinction Peak, a story set in a California mountain town under attack by dinosaurs. While not based in any way on Dinosaurs Attack, you can certainly spot its influence. I’ve decided to offer the novel up for free as a serial, as a gift to you, my faithful readers.”

Check out the first chapter of Extinction Peak HERE, and stay tuned to Lucas Mangum’s blog to read more!

Podcastlandia: Listen Like You were There!

Today’s installment of Podcastlandia presents another episode of JOHN WAYNE LIED TO YOU, where Old Man Comunale has a senior moment and accidentally deletes the episode. Not to worry, it was reposted and you can listen to a brand new story and John Wayne’s recap of BizarroCon 2017.


And as a bonus, a new podcast has been created by Lucas Mangum and his lovely wife Jean! The Mangum Show will review shows and movies, plus guests, readings, interviews and more! Check it out here. You know you want to. Just look at them adorable faces.


And finally, horror writers Brian Keene, Lesley Conner, Mary SanGiovanni, Damien Angelica Walters, J.P. Sloan, and our very own weirdo Eric Hendrixson all appeared on the latest episode of Eating the Fantastic.











Available for Preorder: Engines of Ruin

Lucas Mangum is offering his latest collection of short stories, ENGINES OF RUIN, for the very reasonable price of WHATEVER YOU WANT! Head over to Lucas’ website and pay what you want. The book will be released and sent right to you on October 1st!


This collection of eight short stories by dark fiction author, Lucas Mangum includes “A Killing Back Home,” “Video Inferno,” “Hell and Back,” and “Occupy Babylon,” plus four never before published tales and an introduction by Shane McKenzie (author of MUERTE CON CARNE and MONSTERS DON’T CRY).