The cult section of the literary world

Author Archive

Tons of New Releases! Mud Season! Tenderbear Goes Apeshit! Mother’s Revenge!

51-SV5iHvCL

From Justin Grimbol and Atlatl Press comes a book of poetry about Upstate New York and marriage: Mud Season.

71WDeBvmXKL

Next, Moses Guttchenridder has several problems. His business, Macramania, is going under. His lovelife is in the toilet. Oh, and he has been forced into helping a murderous garden gnome take his revenge on the brothers of a fraternity who make sport out of destroying garden gnomes. The only spot of good news is that he has been chosen at random to become the new face of Krap-Wad Toilet Paper, replacing their beloved spokesanimal, Tenderbear, who has been arrested for drunk driving. The new head of Krap-Wad, Regan Moribund, falls in love Moses, but their relationship is put immediately in jeopardy when Tenderbear escapes his jail cell and goes on a murderous rampage, killing everyone who crosses his path. The former head of Krap-Wad toilet paper, Giles Moribund, attempts to re-take over the company  by hiring a hitman, Asigao, to kill his daughter, Regan.  When Moses, Regan, Giles, Asiago, the muderous gnome and several others converge on New York City, it becomes a bloody masacre to see who will remain on top of the dangerous toilet paper world. At turns humorous and horrifying, Tenderbear Goes Apeshit is another twisted offering from the mind of Bix Skahill (Babes in Gangland and Dope Tits). Get it here!

715J8QzTR9L

And finally, Mother’s Revenge: A Dark and Bizarre Anthology of Global Proportions. What happens when you abuse your mother? It’s not pretty. It’s not nice. And she can get downright mean and nasty if you don’t straighten up and make amends. In this mixed genre group of eco-tales, thirty-two authors from around the globe offer up some lessons in why it’s wise to be kind to Mother Earth. Read and take heed. Your very life may depend on it!


Out Soon: John Wayne Lied to You

Coming soon from Rooster Republic Press and John Wayne Comunale comes the tale of a modern day legend in the making, JOHN WAYNE LIED TO YOU. It’s half autobiography, half creative nonfiction, and an extra half of good old fashioned lies, and will be available for purchase soon. Keep an eye out!

jwc

In the meantime, Comunale has created a new podcast, John Wayne Lied to You, to promote this book and recount his insane real life adventures. Listen! Purchase! Read!


Support John Skipp’s ‘HOPE IN HELL’

John Skipp is putting together a feature film where the house isn’t haunted. YOU ARE! And you can help make it happen!

download

Here’s the pitch from the man himself:

For my 60th birthday, I swore a “bucket list vow” to make a deeply personal micro-budget feature, full of heart, soul, and strangeness, which I knew no studio would ever finance. Moving into my new house gave me the perfect location AND inspiration. Not saying HOPE IN HELL is my fancy “magnum opus”. But it is the one work in which I devote all of my skills — as writer, director, musician, performer and more — into one sweet, sexy, philosophical slice of pure tripped-out art-o-tainment.

Check out the Hope In Hell Indiegogo page for more details and to help John Skipp make something cool!


Bizarro Features at Litreactor

Our bizarro tribe is producing plenty of content across the net, and recently we’ve infiltrated the ranks of literature-loving Litreactor.com! First we have Christoph Paul, who is a regular contributor to the site, interviewing the founder of Hard Times, Matt Saincome. Fans of fake punk news should enjoy it.

mattsaincome-hardtimes

Then our very own trans superhero MP Johnson gets interviewed by Litreactor about language, masculinity, and her latest zine, Trans Mess. Represent, girlfriend.

translr


Out Now: The Lucky Ones Died First

51Aq5jD14kL

“It’s like Jaws but with Bigfoot” – Shane McKenzie, author of Muerte Con Carne

Crushed heads, entrails, and piles of body parts are littering the woods surrounding the quaint English vacation town of Hambleton. A hungry cryptid is on the loose and is biting and tearing to pieces whoever and whatever it can catch. Now the residents must team up with a former-Nazi Bigfoot hunter to save themselves and their livelihood from this monstrous horror.

People must fight. Many of them will not live to see the next day…

The lucky ones died first!

Deadite Press is proud to present modern splatterpunk revivalist Jack Bantry who delivers an action-packed and blood-soaked creature-feature of a novel for fans of David Schow, Skipp & Spector and Richard Laymon.

Get it at Amazon


Weird TV Watch: Blood Drive

Grindhouse cinema comes to television with the debut of Blood Drive on the SyFy channel. Much of what SyFy puts out can be called bizarro, but an entire series about a death race where the cars are fueled by human blood? That sounds more promising than any number of tornadoes filled with anacondas. There’s clearly more gore and guts here than television normally allows, so lovers of weird splatter cinema should check it out.


Out Now: D.O.A. III: Extreme Horror Anthology

51v-C1SQvyL

After six years and more than fifty authors, the Unholy Trinity is complete. This third installment in the DOA series offers thirty stories from the originators of splatterpunk as well as the newest voices in extreme horror.

You’ll laugh…you’ll cry…you’ll vomit.

Don’t say we didn’t warn you.

Bentley Little, Jack Ketchum & Edward Lee, Shane Mckenzie, Wrath James White, Richard Christian Matheson, Kristopher Triana, T.M. McLean, Sean Eads & Joshua Viola, T. Fox Dunham, John Skipp, Luciano Marano, Ryan Harding, Kristopher Rufty, Daniel I. Russell, LLoyd Kaufman & Lily Hayes Kaufman, David Sandner, Betty Rocksteady, C.M. Saunders, K. Trap Jones, Hal Bodner, Adrian Ludens, C. Cameron Rossi, Alistair Rennie, Airika Sneve, Christoph Weber, Garrett Cook, Eric J. Guignard, Jeff Strand, Jaap Boekestein, and John McNee.

Featuring authors from the bizarro scene! Get your copy at Amazon!